Mishy’s Mashed Shepherds Pie

My youngest son started Rugby this week and comes home every day after 2 hours of practice, famished.

Today I managed to defrost ground beef but had no idea what we were having for dinner other than ground beef.  Off I went to meet up with friends for lunch and when I arrived home at 4pm I still had no idea what was for dinner. One of my son’s favorites is Shepherds pie and I had all the ingredients. What makes my Shepherds Pie different is one of the ingredients I use.

Chinese Five Spice adds flavour to the ground beef

IMG_7624

 Pre Heat Oven at 350 F | Oven Safe Casserole

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Tablespoon Olive oil
  • 2 -3 pounds Lean or extra lean ground beef
  • 6 – 8 Yellow fleshed potatoes or red skin potatoes
  • 1 leek chopped up
  •  1 tablespoon granulated garlic
  • 2 Cups beef bouillon
  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 Cup of frozen peas and carrots
  • 2 Teaspoons Chinese Five Spice
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

First thing I do is grab the potatoes and give them a good scrub. To save time I leave the skins on. I used both yellow and red potatoes.

IMG_7614

Add oil to the skillet and saute the chopped up leek until golden brown; take the ground beef out of the package and add to the skillet with the leeks, cook until the meat is no longer pink.

IMG_7611

I make my own gravy to keep the recipe simple and easy. Cornstarch is my friend and  gluten free. Whisk together 2 tbs cornstarch and 1 cup of beef bouillon; add to the meat mixture. Sprinkle in 2 tsp of Chinese 5 spice and the granulated garlic. Add the  frozen peas and carrots to the meat mixture, let simmer for 5 minutes or until the meat mixture thickens.

IMG_7613

Add the meat mixture to an oven safe casserole dish; take the remainder of the beef bouillon and pour it into the casserole dish.

IMG_7620

Potatoes should be done now, mash them up the way you like them and spread over the meat mixture.  Bake at 350 F in the oven for 45 minutes. Take out of oven and let stand for 5 minutes and serve.

IMG_7632

*if you want it with a bit more kick add 1 tablespoon chinese 5 spice.

Leave a Reply

